Topic: 39 FORD DELUXE CONVT

DJACK    -- 03-28-2010 @ 9:27 AM
  HI ALL
I'M NEW AT THIS. I JUST BECAME OWNER OF A 1939 FORD DELUXE THAT MY DAD WAS RESTORING,HE PASTED AWAY DEC 03 2009.
NOT SURE WARE TO START?

This message was edited by DJACK on 3-28-10 @ 9:29 AM

TomO    -- 03-28-2010 @ 9:52 AM
  DJack, start with taking pictures with a digital camera of the car and all of the parts. Next, register on Photobucket.com and upload your pictures there.

Now you can decide which parts need restoring and which parts can be used as is. Organize the parts that are to be used as is into labeled boxes or envelopes under major categories such as chassis, drive train, body and interior.

Next organize the parts that are going to be restored in the same manner.

Post a couple of photos of the car on this site, so that we can get an idea of the amount and type of work needed. Then we can give you some ideas of where to start.

You should also consider joining the Early Ford V-8 Club and a regional group, buying the 38-39 book available in the online store of this site or on the Early Ford V-8 Foundation site.

http://www.fordv8foundation.org/catalog.html

Tom

This message was edited by TomO on 3-28-10 @ 9:59 AM

DJACK    -- 03-28-2010 @ 4:26 PM
  HI TOM
THANKS FOR REPLING.
TO GET A LITTLE DEEPER INTO THIS.
MY FATHER HAS RESTORED SEVERAL OLD FORDS.
THIS ONE HE WAS IN THE STAGE OF PUTING BACK TOGETHER.
IT'S PAINTED AND REDEAY FOR THE NEW INTERIOR.
MY DAD AND I HAVE RESTORED A COUPLE CAR TOGETHER BUT I MORE INTO 60'S AND 70'S MUSCEL.
THIS CAR IS BEFORE MY TIME. WHAT ARE GOOD REFURENCES ON WHAT IS ORIGINAL, LIKE WOODGRAINING DASH AND MOLDINGS. I WILL TRY TO GET PHOTOS SO YOU CAN SEE.

THANKS AGAIN
DENNIS

Tom/SC    -- 03-28-2010 @ 6:33 PM