Topic: 1936 Ford ignition problems.

forJJ    -- 04-14-2016 @ 6:13 PM
  I'm trying to start my 1936 Ford for the first time in 30+ years. I've re-wired everything, had the coil re-done by Skip Haney, and I'm still not getting spark. I'm thinking distributor, but not sure how to diagnose or repair it. I'm new to old Fords, and not sure how to test it.
Thanks in advance!

Jason

4dFordSC    -- 04-14-2016 @ 6:49 PM
  Have you checked/changed the points?

ken ct.    -- 04-14-2016 @ 9:55 PM
  Try a new condenser. Can be fitted to existing coil. NAPA . ken ct.

40 Coupe    -- 04-15-2016 @ 4:26 AM
  After 30 years the points in the distributor may be corroded. It may be best to remove the distributor and clean the points. You can use a point file, do not use sand paper. Either ask Skip for a good condenser for the distributor or NAPA sells an FA-5 direct replacement. Test with a voltmeter to ground to see if there is voltage on the wire to the coil.

TomO    -- 04-15-2016 @ 8:40 AM
  Connect a voltmeter to the coil input and check for battery voltage with the points open and about 4 volts with the points closed. You can open and close the points by tapping the starter button. If the voltage does not change, your points are not making contact when closed or your coil is not making good contact with the distributor.

Tom

forJJ    -- 04-15-2016 @ 6:59 PM
  I put a meter on the coil input, but I never saw it drop below 5.3 volts or so. If I need to pull the distributor, I think I will be getting in over my head. I have never pulled a distributor, and would need a lot a help/luck/etc getting it put back. Any suggestions?

TomO    -- 04-16-2016 @ 7:11 AM
  To pull the distributor, remove the 2 caps, remove the coil, remove the vacuum line, remove the 3 bolts that hold the distributor on.