Topic: 35 pickup tail light bracket

jerry.grayson    -- 03-16-2010 @ 7:18 AM
  What color was the tail light bracket from the factory. I need the information for the 35-36 pickup book.

nelsb01    -- 03-16-2010 @ 9:32 PM
  Well, there were riveted to the box. The box was painted. Logic would say, whatever color the box was.

jerry.grayson    -- 03-17-2010 @ 8:07 AM
  Yes, I agree, but most Ford parts like this were dipped in black paint(fender braces, mirror arms,etc) and the tail light bracket could have been riveted on after the box was painted. I just cannot find any proof one way or the another. Thanks for your thoughts.

nelsb01    -- 03-17-2010 @ 1:20 PM
  OK---very very very original 1/2 ton truck........

Stroker    -- 03-17-2010 @ 1:47 PM
  Jerry:

As an old aircraft mechanic, I can't imagine bucking solid rivets after the truck bed was painted.
To set a cold rivet, one must upset the shank with repeated blows from a rivet gun, or a hydraulic
clamp. Either one of these processes would take any applied finish off of the rivet, and most likely distress the paint immediately around the rivet as the rivet "sets". I'll vote for
the whole assembly being spray painted (or dipped), including any riveted-on brackets.

Dan

jerry.grayson    -- 03-17-2010 @ 2:26 PM
  nelsb01
Nice truck!! Is the paint original? I have never seen a tag bracket painted body color. If you would e-mail me, I would like to see more of your truck. gray1934@bellsouth.net

tudorbilll    -- 03-17-2010 @ 4:43 PM
  nelsb01----dOES IT HAVE a front bumper and no rear? Give us a pic of the front "not so close"

nelsb01    -- 03-17-2010 @ 5:39 PM
  the picture was part of the set that I sent to Lawson. He has over 100 photos of this vehicle.

nelsb01    -- 03-17-2010 @ 5:41 PM
  tudorbill:
Here is your front picture. Yes, front bumper, no rear.

jerry.grayson    -- 03-17-2010 @ 7:15 PM
  tudorbill
35 pickups did not have a rear bumper not even as an extra.

trjford8    -- 03-17-2010 @ 7:41 PM