Topic: '51 Turn Signals Don't Cancel

deluxe40    -- 02-13-2016 @ 4:00 PM
  Trying to figure out if the switch is worn out or if it just needs adjustment. As the picture shows, the switch has two flat tabs that have a 45 degree angle on the end toward the column. These ride on a "C" ring that is pressed onto the back of the steering wheel. When the steering wheel turns the tabs drop into the slot on the "C" ring and when the wheel returns, the edge of the ring hits the tab and bumps the switch back to neutral. Except this doesn't work now. If you know what one of these is supposed to look like, can you tell if mine is worn out (i.e., are the ends of the tabs supposed to be 45 degrees, or is that wear?)

trjford8    -- 02-13-2016 @ 5:32 PM
  Glen, I'm not an expert on 51's but looking at the tabs on the switch I think they may be worn too much to make contact. Just for info the height of the C ring on a 52-53 steering wheel is one inch. I suspect 51 should be the same. If it's too short it may not be hitting the tabs.

This message was edited by trjford8 on 2-13-16 @ 5:36 PM

deluxe40    -- 02-21-2016 @ 11:21 AM