Topic: Loose steering?

jwicklow    -- 11-28-2015 @ 12:46 PM
  I am new to early ford V8s, and could use a little advice. I have recently purchased a '39 DeLuxe coupe in excellent condition. It is mostly original, with some exceptions (new bumpers, battery, etc.). The engine starts up immediately and runs well. Everything seems to have been well maintained. However, when I drive through town, the car feels like it is all over the road, and I am constantly turning the steering wheel to correct my path of travel. Is this normal for a car this old, or am I just unrealistically expecting it to be like a modern car? If the steering issue is not normal, does it sound like I will need to focus on the steering box, the linkage, or alignment? Thanks for your help.

rebrown    -- 11-28-2015 @ 3:35 PM
  I had quite a bit of "slop" in my 36 Tudor steering until the tie rod ends were replaced. It is much better now but still feels a lot different than a modern car with power steering. I would check the tie rods and linkage and go from there.

cliftford    -- 11-28-2015 @ 3:44 PM
  There are a number of possibilities. Steering box, tie rod, pitman arm, kingpins, wheel bearings, steering box loose on frame,or a combination of these. I would jack it up, put jack stands under the frame and check each componet. Also check spring bushings.

trjford8    -- 11-29-2015 @ 7:17 AM
  I'll add to cliftford's list. Old tires can also add to the problem.

woodiewagon46    -- 11-29-2015 @ 8:45 AM
  If you are new to early Ford V-8s the last thing you want is a car that is unsafe and one that you won't want to drive. Winter is a great time to jack up the front end and go over everything mentioned above. Most are simple repairs that can be done if you have some mechanical skills. There is a wealth of information available on this site and everyone will be willing to give you advice on what you don't know.

TomO    -- 11-29-2015 @ 8:50 AM