Topic: 36 flathead running on 7 cylinders

Buckd44    -- 10-18-2015 @ 5:29 PM
  I'm not getting spark on one cylinder. Attached is a picture of the lead ends of the wires. I'm new to this, not sure if it normal wear or what they should look like.

Thanks
Nate

This message was edited by Buckd44 on 10-18-15 @ 5:53 PM

40cpe    -- 10-18-2015 @ 7:01 PM
  Pictures can be deceiving, but if that is oil on/around the upper left terminal it could be shorting out. I would wash thoroughly , dry, reinstall and see if it improves. I also see damaged insulation ring around the lower lower right terminal. If the dead plug is on the side fed by that cap it shows you are on the right track. Also ohm the plug wire and move a spark plug to the dead cylinder. You seem certain that there is no fire, but low/no compression will cause a miss.

Good luck and let us know how you resolve the problem.

drkbp    -- 10-18-2015 @ 8:14 PM
  Buck,

40cpe has probably nailed it from the way your inner cap looks. Oily.

Is it cylinder number two (#6) on the driver's side that is acting up?

The cylinders are numbered 1-4 on the right bank (passenger side) and 5-8 on the left bank (driver's side).

That is the one that is dirty on the lower left of your cap picture if I have my head on right tonight. The lower two contacts are to the first and second cylinders on the driver's side, #5 and #6.

That is the inner cap off a three screw biscuit coil '33-early '36 distributor, correct?

The inner caps are numbered on the other side as to which cylinder wire goes on which contact. Whenever you get a couple of new ones, you should see the numbers on the wire side. I wouldn't take it apart until you get two new ones so you can put each wire right back in the correct spot on the inner cap.

The late 1936 flat top coil distributor has the inner cap line up slot on the bottom of the driver's side of the distributor, on the top of the passenger side and uses a different inner cap.