Topic: Ignition resister for 48 Mercury

nelsonford    -- 06-13-2015 @ 4:31 PM
  I have a 48 Mercury coupe. There doesn't appear to be an ignition resister under the dash...just the lighting breakers and I did a resistance test as well and got a low value of .6 ohms which should be 40 ohms which is what the new resister is. I want to mount it on the coil for easy access. It was there when I bought the car. Does that sound okay?

interested to hear what you say, thanks

kubes40    -- 06-14-2015 @ 7:19 AM
  My late '47 Ford had the resister mounted authentically atop the coil. While I am far from an expert on these post war Fords, it seems to me the place mine was installed came about sometime earlier, perhaps late '46???

TomO    -- 06-14-2015 @ 8:48 AM
  The change for the ignition resister from inside the fire wall to the coil location, came about some time in 1947 when the cars went to the sea sh*ll horns. The date may have been different for Ford and Mercury as the wiring harness was changed to accommodate the several changes made at that time.

Tom

This message was edited by TomO on 6-14-15 @ 8:49 AM

len47merc    -- 06-14-2015 @ 9:52 AM
  From my reading and the manufacture date of my '47 (January, '47) this change, along with several other 'face lifting' changes, happened with the roll-out of the 'new', 'spring model' '47s beginning in April of '47. Most if not all prior to that point, including mine, have the resistor under the dash. April and thereafter, atop the coil.

Rusty Davis authored a series of articles on these changes and the timing of the same. The 1941-1948 Ford Book also speaks to these changes though Appendix D of the Book makes no specific mention of the resistor location change. In examining '47s with original glass still intact I have personally seen cars with Jan & March manufacture dates that have the resistor under the dash, and others with May and later dates that have the resistor atop the coil.