Topic: 32 truck fenders fit a coupe?

MICHV8    -- 03-06-2015 @ 3:02 PM
  I'm trying to avoid fiberglass fenders if at all possible and might have a lead on 32 pickup truck fenders. Are they the same as as coupe fenders and what kind of dollar value should they cost? Thanks again...

42oink    -- 03-06-2015 @ 4:22 PM
  Greetings, I'm no expert on truck vs coupe fenders (suspect not the same,tho) but rather than fiberglass on such a nice car, may I suggest Brookville roadster steel reproduction. I've only heard good things about them and they look great. Price is about $525 each, but you'll be happy and considering how much body work and paint can cost, maybe money ahead. Good luck. Ron.

3w2    -- 03-06-2015 @ 6:30 PM
  Not even close to one another except sitting on the ground inside down and viewed from a distance. A better bet are '33-'34 pickup rear fenders as the amount of modification involved into converting them into '32 pickup fenders is relatively modest.

Or if true, the rumor that the folks who are reproducing the steel '32 five-window coupe bodies are going to reproduce the pickup rear fenders could make waiting worthwhile.

Otherwise, a good, not perfect, set of original '32 pickup rear fenders seems to be in the neighborhood of $1,000 when they show up for sale.

CharlieStephens    -- 03-06-2015 @ 9:44 PM
  I think I am missing something. Are we talking about front or rear fenders? 3WC is right about the rear fenders. The 1932 pickup truck and coupe use the same front fender. Just be sure they are 1932 truck and not 1933-34 truck. If they are 1933-34 they will have a small raised area to clear the rivet heads at the front crossmember. There are other small differences that will drive you crazy but the small raised area is the first clue.

Charlie Stephens

MICHV8    -- 03-07-2015 @ 7:14 AM
  thanks to all...
The seller claims to have front grille and fenders from a 32 pickup, but I haven't seen them.