Topic: Overheat - 4th of July Parade

Dads41SuperD    -- 07-05-2014 @ 8:27 AM
  OK - I knew it was going to be a stretch to run in the 4th of July Parade. It was 100 degrees and the parade was painfully slow. I made it 45 minutes before I had to pull out and leave the Blue Star Mothers high and dry.

I am relatively new to this - I've had the car about a year. I want to try the parade again next year. I have done a lot of work on the car, but have not touched the cooling system, which appears to be original. I've read some of the posts on cooling and am getting mixed messages about higher flow water pumps and other upgrades to the cooling system.

Bottom line - Am I asking too much of the old girl?

Old Henry    -- 07-05-2014 @ 11:37 AM
  I've run the 47 sedan in many parades, probably not at 100 degrees but close, and have never overheated.

All of the things you've read about improving the cooling system can help in varying degrees. I would prioritize the remedies as follows:

1. Clean the radiator very good, both inside and out.
2. Install thermostats with higher flow than stock. Stants are better than any others for the 59A engine.
3. Clean the rust from the engine with Evapo-rust.
4. Run as little antifreeze as is necessary to protect from freezing in the lowest expected winter temperatures. Water cools better than antifreeze and propylene glycol antifreeze cools better than ethylene glycol. But don't run totally without antifreeze, even in the summer. It has additives necessary to prevent reduce corrosion and lubricate the water pumps.
5. Use distilled water rather than regular tap water.
6. Add Hyper-lube Super Coolant to the radiator water. It's better than Water-Wetter.
7. The modern replacements for the water pumps are a higher flow. I'm nor talking about Skip's pumps. He does not recommend using his with thermostats. Their flow is only higher without thermostats.