Topic: Super Bright Tail Light Bulbs

Steves46    -- 02-04-2010 @ 5:44 PM
  I noticed Sacramento Vintage Ford has the 6 volt super bright tail light bulbs (50/14 candlepower) in their catalog. Would this tax the generator output or is it pretty safe to use with a stock system? Thanks.

Wolfie    -- 02-04-2010 @ 6:08 PM
  I bought these brake light bulbs from Sacramento Vintage Ford about five months ago and I haven't had any problems with my generator output. I have an Optima battery. I wouldn't be afraid to try them, and they are a very inexpensive modification.

4dFordSC    -- 02-04-2010 @ 6:44 PM
  I've been using them for five years with no problem. For maximum benefit, also paint the insides of your tail light buckets white.

Steves46    -- 02-05-2010 @ 7:11 AM
  Thank you very much for your feedback; I will give them a try.

supereal    -- 02-05-2010 @ 8:11 AM
  Don't expect a vast improvement. We have tried both "super bright" and halogen bulbs in taillights with mixed results. LED replacements appear to be better, and draw a fraction of the current.

carguy    -- 02-08-2010 @ 5:05 AM
  I've found that covering the inside of the tail lamp housing with shiny aluminum foil works well to increase the brightness of tail lights. If the foil has some wrinkles that seems to help. This assumes that one is using a standard, not a LED, bulb. because the LED light is so very straight line directional the finish on the inside of the housing doesn't seem to help much.

49inthefastlane    -- 02-08-2010 @ 2:41 PM
  Who has 6-volt LED lights and are they red? Thanks.

donclink    -- 02-08-2010 @ 5:13 PM
  SuperBrightLEDs carries 6 volt 1156 (Single Contact) and 1157 (Dual Contact) type bulbs. They come in Red, White, and Amber, and the 1157 type contain 19 LEDs per bulb. Price for Red is $7.95 per bulb.

http://www.superbrightleds.com/cgi-bin/store/index.cgi?action=DispPage&Page2Disp=/specs/1156_57-x12-24V.htm