Topic: 39 compression

cappy39    -- 01-28-2010 @ 4:07 PM
  Hey guys
I appreciate your advice. What is an acceptable range for the compression. Mine is stabilizing between 60 and 70. This seems pretty low to me, but I am new to flatheads.
Mark

ford38v8    -- 01-28-2010 @ 5:18 PM
  Mark, I'd think that if they are all within a range of 10 lbs, you're good, even if they are all lower than yours.

Alan

37RAGTOPMAN    -- 01-29-2010 @ 6:04 AM
  It all depends ,
one gauge might read one pressure, while a different guage will read a different amount of pressure, make sure you lock the throttle open,while doing this test,
another test would be with the engine running using a good vacuumn gauge,the needle should be steady,if it wobbles back and forth,you may have some valve problems, its amazing how a good vacuunm gauge what it can tell you about your engine,
most of the older vacuumn gauges have a dial with when the pointer points to a certain number or color section whats going on,
this is also a great way to ajust the carb,
if you buy a AMERICAM made comppression gauge from SNAP-ON would probabaly give the most accurate reading,
but as long as they are with in 10-15 lbs you should be ok,
my 2 cents worth, 37RAGTOPMAN

cappy39    -- 01-29-2010 @ 6:59 AM
  Thank you
They are definitely within the range, but does it matter that they are around 60-70 lbs?
Mark

supereal    -- 01-29-2010 @ 12:23 PM