Topic: 1937 FORD ID PLATE ?

37RAGTOPMAN    -- 01-26-2010 @ 8:41 AM
  HI
I just took a good look at my original 37 FORD CABRIOLET, 78-760-A
I Owned this since 1975,and found NO NUMBER plate , anywhere near the fore wall,,
like the person with the 710 ROADSTER,
I would assume this plate that was pictured was home
made,and NOT AUTHENIC

as I understand it, it should read
78-710 Then the rest of the vin number should have folowed, same as on the frame,
The doors on that 710 look authenic , because has no top of door mouldings like my 37 CABRIOLET
I know for a fact that 1936 CONVERTIBLE SEDANS, had embossed number on the right side of firewall,
because was made by a outside source,
maybe that 710 ROADSTER ID plate was made for export?
thanks just shedding a little light on this subject,
thanks Just my 2 cents worth,37 RAGTOPMAN

42wagon    -- 01-26-2010 @ 9:14 AM
  Ragtopman
I'll be the first to admit that I am not an expert on the subject but I'll throw in my thoughts for what it is worth.

As we all know the serial number for the vehicle was assigned when the engine was assembled at the Rouge engine plant. When the engine was installed in a frame at an assembly plant that number was then transferred to the left frame rail in three places.

The tag on the body apparently was placed there by the body builder - if it was not built by Ford - at the time the body was built. It would be stamped with the appropriate body number, however, the body builder would have no knowledge of the serial number as the body was no where near the frame.