Topic: '41 hood alignment

jivin jer    -- 10-04-2013 @ 5:44 PM
  Hey,I'm a newbie. This is my first post. I have a '41 Super Deluxe cpe that I replaced some VERY sloppy hood hinges on. Now they are nice and tight but I can't get this hood aligned to save my life. Too many adjustments. Do you guys have any tips? Maybe just a "lift off" hood? Jerry

This message was edited by jivin jer on 10-4-13 @ 5:45 PM

ford1941    -- 10-04-2013 @ 7:37 PM
  Welcome to the forum. Good luck with the '41.

I had the same problem on my 41 Super Deluxe convertible and, unfortunately, there was no easy answer. I even went so far as to buy new hinges, but that did not help. It ended up just taking a lot of time and effort to get it right. I adjusted the hinges around through all the wiggle room I had in the bolts and went back and forth between each side (all the time being very careful not to scratch anything). Finally, I got each side dialed-in as close as I could, and then ended up actually using a rat-tail file to stretch a couple of the holes just a bit to allow me to get the extra bit of adjustment I needed for the right fit. The whole process took me a couple of weeks of back-and-forth, but I finally got the hood to where I wanted to it to be. Hopefully someone on the forum has a more scientific approach, but this is what I had to do.

jivin jer    -- 10-05-2013 @ 12:51 AM
  WOW, thanks for the reply. My first response is that it does sound like mountain climbing. I'm thinking that for some one that has done this (much) more than once there are some base lines or something. Thanks again. Jerry

joe b    -- 10-05-2013 @ 6:03 AM
  Jive In the May/June 2009 issue of the V-8 times there was an article "Aligning the 1941/1948 Hood" with photos. Pages 39 and 40. I believe you can find it on the V-8 website.

jivin jer    -- 10-05-2013 @ 8:11 AM
  Thanks Joe for the tip. So far I don't see any available.

supereal    -- 10-05-2013 @ 1:58 PM