Topic: Throttle Plate Base For EAB Carburator

41-42fordadvisor    -- 08-26-2013 @ 2:22 PM
  My wife Marianne just bought a 1952 Ford Customline Tudor Sedan V-8 automatic transmission. I do have the 1952-1953 Ford book from the V-8 Club. The carburetor on the car is an 8BA which I know is wrong. I have a spare EAB carburetor that came with the car as a spare. The throttle plate base on the 8BA comes out about one inch past the throttle plate base. The throttle plate base on the EAB ends at the end of the throttle plate base. Which throttle plate base is correct for a EAB carburetor? Thank you Fred Killian

TomO    -- 08-27-2013 @ 7:09 AM
  Fred, your question is not clear to me. Could you please post some photos?

Tom

41-42fordadvisor    -- 08-27-2013 @ 10:49 AM
  Tom, I don't know how to post pictures I'm not very good at this computer thing. I'm talking about the throttle body at the bottom of the carburetor part number 9518 which is held on by 3 screws. One of which goes in from the bottom. On the right side of the accelerator pump link goes into one of 3 holes. On the 8BA carburetor on the car now the throttle shaft comes out one inch past the left side of the throttle body. On the EAB carburetor the throttle shaft ends at the end of the throttle body on the left side of the throttle body. I hope this makes it easier to understand. Please let me know if this works out. Fred Killian

supereal    -- 08-27-2013 @ 11:19 AM
  Fred: Attached is a drawing of the EAB carb, correct for 52/53. The 8BA carb was used 49/51. The primary difference is the base, which you know, due to the external linkage connections. Even those are different, whether the carb is on a vehicle with an automatic transmission or not, as a dashpot would be used with the Ford-O-Matic.

41-42fordadvisor    -- 08-27-2013 @ 6:23 PM