Topic: Thermostats or no thermostats

35gal    -- 01-13-2010 @ 7:02 AM
  I know this question has been asked many times but I’m new to this message board so here it is. Does the early flathead motor (21 stud) run cooler with the inline thermostats removed. If yes, than why did Ford installed them in all their cars.

johnpoly    -- 01-13-2010 @ 9:01 AM

when I got my '36 21 stud car
over 10 years ago it would boil
over on hot days. It had no t-stats.
I installed t-stats and found that
on 90 degree days the temp gauge
would lock in at about 200 degrees
with no boil over. I am about to
install Skip Haney's radiator control
unit which calls for eliminating the
t-stats. The unit is designed to run
the engine cooler. Good luck.

supereal    -- 01-13-2010 @ 9:33 AM
  The purpose of thermostats is to control coolant flow to allow engine warmup to happen quickly to improve driveabilty after a cold start. There is an "urban legend" that refuses to die claiming that slowing down coolant circulation "gives it time to absorb heat". Not true. It only increases the load on the radiator, which has a limit on its ability to transfer heat to the air. When a thermostat in proper condition reaches the rated temperature, it should be fully open, and not restricting flow beyond the physical structure of the stat. Running without stats allows full flow, and the best efficiency, with some loss of performance until the engine reaches operating temperature. For most applications 160 degree stats are the best choice. If your engine tends to overheat, run without them. There was a recent article saying that the cure for overheating is to install 200 degree stats! It must have been a joke. Maximum circulation equals maximum cooling.

Dave D    -- 01-17-2010 @ 12:08 AM

quote:

Running without stats allows full flow, and the best efficiency, with some loss of performance until the engine reaches operating temperature.