Topic: Strange Transmission Issue

Texas40    -- 03-11-2013 @ 8:40 AM
  Following Mac Van Pelts book, we rebuilt a friends 46 transmission with all new parts and followed the clearance specs etc. It up shifts great with a snappy click into gear and no clashing whatsoever. Shift from first to second is great and second to third is also smooth, quiet, no clash whatsoever and "feels normal". The problem is in the down shift from third to second which no matter what driving technique you use it clashes rather violenly trying to go back into second. Any ideas as to the cause of this?

alanwoodieman    -- 03-11-2013 @ 9:43 AM
  try slowing down the shift and remember these trans are not made to provide de-acceleration, thrust washers are not too good for this

Texas40    -- 03-11-2013 @ 11:10 AM
  I have been driving these flatheads for over 40 years, I know you can't shift quickly, this problem is that it will not engage on the downshift without clash no matter how carefully you try but shifts upward 2nd to 3rd very smoothly. As a side, it will go from third to second more smoothly into gear if less than 10 miles an hour but it still feels "in conflict"

carcrazy    -- 03-11-2013 @ 11:30 AM
  Are you sure the synchro rings are installed correctly?

rotorwrench    -- 03-11-2013 @ 12:55 PM
  I've heard that some of the brass blocker rings that are available out there are not the correct dimension in the tapered area. This can cause problems with movement of the blocker during the shift. Mac VanPelt mentioned something about this on the Ford Barn one time.

Old Henry    -- 03-11-2013 @ 3:24 PM
  I've not been able to downshift from 3rd to 2nd without double clutching from the day I rebuilt my transmission. I didn't see any mention of you doing that. If not, may be the only way to downshift without grinding.

Old Henry
(The older I get, the better old looks.)

supereal    -- 03-11-2013 @ 8:01 PM