Topic: Thoughts on lowering

spqr67    -- 10-03-2012 @ 8:26 PM
  Looking for some input on the best/most cost effective way to lower my 50 Custom.
The way I see it there are two options, install drop spindles in the front (possibly requiring some manipulation of other parts..steering?) and lowering blocks in the rear OR cutting coils in the front and use blocks in the rear.
I don't plan on using my girl on long trips; she's just a weekend cruiser.
Anyone have strong opinions on either? Prob best to mention that I'm a novice in regard to this kind of thing.
Thanks all-
Michael

supereal    -- 10-03-2012 @ 8:59 PM
  As this club is dedicated to the preservation of old Fords, it is likely you will find limited support for lowering. Many of us old timers did do it back in the 50's, and found that altering the suspension usually resulted in handling problems, bottoming, and tire interference. To do it safely, cutting coils or heating springs is a poor choice. The "low riders" probably have a better idea in using hydraulics to lower or raise the ground clearance. If you are intent on doing it, obtain the Chassis Engineering catalog. They have the necessary items to do it correctly.

flathead4rd    -- 10-04-2012 @ 6:01 AM
  You can lower the front about two inches by replacing the front springs with coils from a Ford Aerostar. For the back just use two or three inch blocks. Do not cut or heat coils. The Aerostar coils will maintain your ride without botoming out. Get more information about this modification at the shoeboxford.com web site.

Stroker    -- 10-04-2012 @ 3:07 PM