Topic: I need help with early Ford front hubs

willys36    -- 08-16-2012 @ 9:08 AM
  I am a novice when it comes to early Fords. I am building a project that needs two front hubs that will be exposed and chromed so they need to be correct. here is a picture of the hubs I need. I need another one to go with this one. Does anyone know what it came off of and does anyone have one they can spare?

MG    -- 08-16-2012 @ 10:11 AM
  What is the part number stamped on that piece???

willys36    -- 08-16-2012 @ 2:55 PM
  I'll check when I get home. I never thought there would be so much variation in wheel hubs!!

willys36    -- 08-17-2012 @ 6:50 AM
  The number on the hub is 01A110661. As usual pretty tough to make out casting numbers on cast iron.

supereal    -- 08-17-2012 @ 9:19 AM
  That is not a valid hub part number. O1A would indicate years 41-48. The number you have given would be in the starter motor category. You are right about trying to decipher numbers on old cast iron. Trying to plate old, rough cast iron is very difficult, if possible at all.

Old Henry    -- 08-17-2012 @ 7:27 PM
  The parts book doesn't show any hubs with the 1106 number, only 1105. But, here's a hub with numbers similar to yours but different appearance so there must be 1106's:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/40-41-42-FORD-MERCURY-front-hub-Flathead-1940-1941-1942-SCTA-32-Ratrod-Brake-/150876671782?pt=Vintage_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&hash=item2320f34f26&vxp=mtr

If you can't find one to match yours you could get a couple of these new ones to put on:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Early-Ford-Front-Brake-Hub-w-Dust-Cap-1940-Design-/130737655082?pt=Motors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&hash=item1e70924d2a&vxp=mtr

I've attached the parts book listing of hub numbers in case it will help.

Old Henry
(The older I get, the better old looks.)

This message was edited by Old Henry on 8-17-12 @ 10:48 PM

willys36    -- 08-18-2012 @ 11:43 AM
  Here is a shot of the number. As I read it

01A1106-C1