Topic: 21 stud backfires or pops @ 50 mph

jtserenityln    -- 08-03-2012 @ 10:07 PM
  @ 50 mph 21 stud newly overhauled pops or backfires.. distrib. was professionally strobed and stromberg 97 professionally re-built. starts and idles great but seems to lack power upon acceleration then pops and/or backfires @ 50 mph or faster. Oil pressure & temp. are normal. I'm new to flatheads so can anyone give Me basic carb screw settings and any other tips to get this problem fixed... Thanks All***JT***

MG    -- 08-03-2012 @ 10:53 PM
  I suggest you first check/trace the spark plug wires making sure the are connected correctly at the distributor. What year engine/car do you have?

40 Coupe    -- 08-04-2012 @ 4:00 AM