Topic: 39 Standard correct items

David Bentley    -- 04-03-2012 @ 8:09 AM
  I am new to this, but I need some help in Knowing Where to buy the "true , correct " parts. I want these to be as period correct as possible. 1: Who is the best source to buy a new Ford Script Battery ( I have seen a couple of different of these ) & is the Oval supposed to be painted Gold & if so, who has the best paint for this ?
2:Who sells the correct gas tank cap ?
3: Who sells the Correct , Black or Blue base, spark plugs as explained in the V8 Ford '39 book ?

This message was edited by David Bentley on 4-3-12 @ 1:51 PM

TomO    -- 04-04-2012 @ 7:10 AM
  The Ford script batteries being sold today are licensed reproductions, so the cases are for practical purposes identical.

I have never painted one, but I believe that the One Shot striping paint would be the best.

The spark plugs are not reproduced. The correct plugs for a 39 would be Champion or Ford H10 with 2 ribs and a black base. Good one are like hens teeth, used ones can be found.

I have not judged for many years now, but when I did judge, I allowed the Autolite 216 plugs to pass. I don't believe that that is the current process.

Tom

kubes40    -- 04-04-2012 @ 7:17 AM
  Hi David, I have restored one '39 standard coupe that twice scored 999 points. I am currently restoring yet another. That being said only so you may feel a bit more confidence in my advice.
You will be unable to get a perfect reproduction battery for your car. the very closet to authentic may be purchased from Antique Auto Battery in Ohio. Be forewarned though... that have sent me (three different cars) the wrong battery the first time. They replaced each and every one at their expense but apparent do not grasp the correct post orientation for the standard.
The oval should be painted gold. I use Testers, available at any decent hobby shop.