Topic: starting problem

41woodie    -- 03-25-2012 @ 4:50 PM
  I have a 41 ford with starting problem. Car idles great & runs great. However, when temp. guage reaches past 3/4, either by driving or idleing in driveway, it will not restart after being shut off. It turns over ok, but will not restart. Is this what the grose jet is supposed to solve or am i just not starting the car properly? When cranking, I slightly depress the accelerator a couple of times. Thanks to all for any help as I am a novice to this. The forum is great.

35ford    -- 03-25-2012 @ 5:56 PM
  I would suggest you have the coil rebuilt by Skip in Fl. I have sent my complete Distributor with the coil and condenser to him to rebuild. He can then set it up on his Heyer machine and test run it. I week is the usually the turn around time. jmho

supereal    -- 03-25-2012 @ 7:55 PM
  When the coil gets hot, the spark intensity weakens. Coupled with the high current draw of the starter, there isn't enough "juice" to start the engine until it cools off. Every old Ford starts differently, but pumping the accelerator usually aggravates the starting problem when the engine is hot. Just depress the accelerator a bit, but don't pump it. The advice to have your coil rebuilt by Skip Haney is right on. All old Ford coils fail when hot.

This message was edited by supereal on 3-25-12 @ 7:57 PM

supereal    -- 03-25-2012 @ 7:55 PM
  When the coil gets hot, the spark intensity weakens. Coupled with the high current draw of the starter, there isn't enough "juice" to start the engine until it cools off. Every old Ford starts differently, but pumping the accelerator usually aggravates the starting problem. Just depress the accelerator a bit, but don't pump it. The advice to have your coil rebuilt by Skip Haney is right on. All old Ford coils fail when hot.

Old Henry    -- 03-25-2012 @ 8:05 PM