Topic: Need Restoration Shop

coupeguy    -- 02-03-2012 @ 10:04 AM
  I would like to buy and restore a 32 to 34 3 or 5 window coupe. I am not a mechanic and I don't have the space available to do the work myself. Is there a reliable shop in Southern California that can do this kind of work? I want to restore the car and not hotrod it so it is important the the work be done authenically. Hope someone can recommend a good shop.

CharlieStephens    -- 02-03-2012 @ 2:04 PM
  I have lived my entire life in Southern California. I bought in 1969, restored and still have a '32 roadster. I have never heard of the type of shop you are looking for. You will probably have to settle for buying a copy of the restoration guidelines from the club and after studying up going to various shops that specialize in the part you are working on (body, paint, frame, engine, upholstry). If you are not already in a local chapter of the club you should consider joining one. The contacts are in the front of the roster. I would like to mention that it would be a good idea to get a handle on the cost of the whole project as it is often cheaper to buy one that is finished or nearly finished. One final thought, you should enable your PM and email.

Charlie Stephens

This message was edited by CharlieStephens on 2-3-12 @ 2:06 PM

TonyM    -- 02-03-2012 @ 2:50 PM
  There are no shops in So Cal that can restore old Fords?

Coupe Guy,

Check Hemmings Motor News in the Services Offered Section. You might be able to find someone.

This message was edited by TonyM on 2-3-12 @ 2:51 PM

Stroker    -- 02-03-2012 @ 3:24 PM
  With all the greatest respect for Charlie's advice, particularly buying the best example
which experience will show is the least costly in the long run.....I, (A So-Cal native),
would also suggest that if there was any geographical area in the US where you can find
"ANYTHING" it would be SoCal.