Topic: 1946 Ford Business Coupe

slyck14    -- 12-23-2011 @ 11:30 PM
  I am new to the hobby and to the EFV8 Club. I just purchased a '46 Ford Business Coupe and am trying to find a way to determine where in the production range (early, mid or late) it falls by serial number. I am the third owner, as far as I can determine, and the car is un-molested original with 51,000 miles. Can anyone point me in a direction to become just a bit more knowledgable?

ford38v8    -- 12-24-2011 @ 12:14 AM
  Slyck, Welcome to the Club, and to the Forum. I'd also encourtage you to join a Regional Group. I believe the closest RG to your Fort Worth location would be the Dallas RG # 115.

In answer to your question, the range of serial numbers for Ford in '46 ran in two series, one for the Ford V8, the other for the Ford 6.
V8: 99A-650280 - 99A-1412709
6: 1GA-227524 - 1GA-326417

Got to the Club's online bookstore and check out the books available, particularly the 1941 - '48 Ford Book. The Club's books, written by our Members, are the most comprehensive reference books you'll find about our cars. Pictures, part numbers, timelines, these books have the answers you're looking for.

Alan

slyck14    -- 12-24-2011 @ 11:50 AM
  Alan,

Merry Christmas and thanks for the guidance...I am new to this hobby. I have been in Corvettes for the last 20 years or so.

I had an item on my bucket list to drive Route 66. In 2012, I will be 66, and want to do it in a 66 year old car! Since my folks brought me back from the hospital after I was born in a '46 Business Coupe, that is the car I wanted for the adventure!!! I was really fortunate to find a beauty that is all original, never restored, with only 51,000 miles. I will put different wheels and radial tires for the trip, but plan to keep as much originality as possible.