Topic: Judging Question

daoust    -- 11-07-2011 @ 10:05 AM
  Would a 1947 Ford convertible with a Mitch*ll overdrive installed as an accessory have points deducted in a judged show? Would the deduction also apply to an installed Columbia overdrive?

kubes40    -- 11-07-2011 @ 10:31 AM
  Yes, the Mitch*ll a deduction without question. The Columbia with the proper controls should be accepted.

This message was edited by kubes40 on 11-7-11 @ 10:34 AM

daoust    -- 11-07-2011 @ 10:53 AM
  I'm new to this so please excuse the dumb question. How much of a deduction would that be? For instance, under the judging CD I got from EFV8 Club store said somethig like "deduct 1 point for each 5 incorrect screws." Pretty insignificant. How much of a deduction would the Mitch*ll OD get? Any idea?

David Daoust

ford38v8    -- 11-07-2011 @ 11:56 AM
  David, I'm reluctant to comment on any particular accessory itself, but I can tell you that the Judging Forms do address accessories as either major or minor, with a very modest deduction. Look to the bottom of each page for the "Added Accessories" section. You will see the standard and maximum deductions. Bear in mind also that modifications performed to a car such as holes drilled or panels altered to accommodate the accessory may also draw point deductions, as will the absence of those parts of the car that were replaced by the accessory. This is not to imply that those deductions would add up to unreasonable proportions, but rather that every point deducted can itself become the straw that breaks the camel's back, so careful consideration must be given any such modification.

Alan

daoust    -- 11-07-2011 @ 12:24 PM
  I guess it comes down to show points versus improved driveability. Thanks everyone.

David Daoust

Stroker    -- 11-07-2011 @ 1:03 PM
  Well, IMHO your stunningly beautiful 47 DESERVES a Columbia, and then you can have your cake and eat it too.

daoust    -- 11-07-2011 @ 1:31 PM