Topic: Stromberg 97 Help

doning    -- 08-21-2011 @ 1:44 PM
  Okay. I have another issue. I was having problems starting my 37 Ford after it sat over night. I removed the carb top and my float was almost touching the bottom of the bowl. The next day I filled the bowl with gas up to the top, replaced the cover and checked it the next morning and the same thing happened. The float almost touching the bottom of the bowl. The float does not have any holes in it. The gas is going somewhere. I have no external leaks nor do I smell gas in the engine compartment. Are there any lead plugs it could be leaking from? I did not even see any gas in the intake manifold. Any ideas?

thirtysixford    -- 08-21-2011 @ 2:06 PM
  I'm thinking maybe a leaking power valve, but I'm no expert.

I would try Stromberg's tech support at tech@stromberg-97.com
Mike

keith oh    -- 08-21-2011 @ 2:31 PM
  Your problem is probably fuel leaking past the power valve and ends up in the crankcase. The power valve is located behind the center screw at front outside bottom of float chamber. It is either stuck or worn out or has a weak little spring or maybe if you are lucky just dirty. To properly remove and replace it you need a split blade screwdriver that will straddle the little pin that sticks up (just hoping to be bent) thereby ruining the valve. It is best to remove the carburetor to better see what you are doing. Be sure and replace the washer at least, if not the power valve. After all this it will probably still leak but maybe less at least.

supereal    -- 08-23-2011 @ 11:02 AM