Topic: 41 ford shocks

curts41    -- 11-17-2009 @ 9:39 AM
  Hi all,
Newbie here. I recently purchased a stock 41 ford tudor. I have a real problem with the rear end swaying around when I am driving. I see some real strange looking shocks. Can somebody explain what I must do to fix this problem?

Thx .
Curt

supereal    -- 11-17-2009 @ 1:59 PM
  Curt: Those "funny looking shocks" are likely the original Houdaille lever shocks. More often than not, they are inoperative because of age. There are two good remedies: tube shocks and a sway bar. A good source is Chassis Engineering. Their web site is www.chassisengineeringinc.com, or call them at 319/643-2645. The transverse "buggy springs" of old Fords allow the body to swing on the spring shackles. If the shackles are worn, it seriously affects control even more. CE manufactures their own parts on site here in Iowa, so they avoid the rinky dink foreign parts curse.

42wagon    -- 11-17-2009 @ 4:08 PM
  Curt
You say you have a stock 41. Before you jump to tubular shocks and sway bars stop and consider what your goal for the car is. Once you make these changes it will no longer be eligible for fine point judging if that is your goal.

Also keep in mind that Ford used those transverse springs hung on shackles. Even if everything is nice a tight your car is going to sway more than you are used to driving a modern car.

If you don't already have the 41 to 48 Ford book you should get one. There is a wealth of information about your car in it. The book is available from the Early Ford V8 Club on the home page of this web site.

Tom/SC    -- 11-17-2009 @ 6:52 PM