Topic: Hard vs. Soft water

crewdoggy    -- 04-11-2011 @ 9:35 AM
  I have read the forum topics about anti-freeze usage in the radiator and lubricant for the water pump. Thank you all for the information, I am new to the "Club" and am on a rather steep learning curve. Does anyone have any thoughts on hard vs. soft water use in the cooling system. I live in an area were the water is pretty hard and can see the mineral deposits that accumulate when a water softener is not used. Can I assume that over time hard water will leave the same deposits in the cooling system of my '36.

supereal    -- 04-11-2011 @ 10:15 AM
  Neither hard water nor softened water should be used in the cooling system. The hard water contains lime and other minerals that are good insulators. A 1/16th of inch of lime coating will reduce cooling efficiency by as much as 40%. Softened water trades sodium for magnesium ions which will attack components. The best water is the distilled type, followed by the "demineralized" kind. Most antifreeze dilutes the water by at least 50%, reducing it somewhat. Anyone using just water should be sure to add a container of "anti rust" to lube the water pumps and coat the cast iron water jacket.

This message was edited by supereal on 4-11-11 @ 12:51 PM

ford38v8    -- 04-11-2011 @ 11:21 PM
  Bob, I betcha you brew a mean cup of coffee too, huh?

Alan

37RAGTOPMAN    -- 04-12-2011 @ 5:12 AM
  I use water out of a dehumifier that I have in the basement,
this is another way to go without buying it,
but never tried in coffee yet,
my 3 cents worth 37 RAGTOPMAN

Stroker    -- 04-12-2011 @ 7:20 AM