Topic: Too cold in the summer?

Old Henry    -- 12-09-2010 @ 8:29 PM
  Can the flathead engines get TOO cold in the SUMMER without thermostats?

I know this is a weird season to discuss this, but, in light of recent lengthy discussions about not using thermostats in the summer, which is what I've been doing for several years, I've been thinking about the down side of such, even in the hot summer.

I've noticed that when climbing over a mountain in the summer without thermostats the engine still gets pretty hot by the top of the mountain, but then, going down the other side, usually coasting or in a gear to prevent excessive speed, the engine quickly cools down to almost no reading on the temperature gauge. That has always looked real good to me after watching the thing climb going up the hill but, after reading a few things lately about the importance of getting the engine up to proper operating temperature and keeping it there I wonder if that's really healthy on the engine and whether I ought to go ahead and keep the thermostats in even in the hot summer to get the engine up to proper operating temperature quicker and keep it from cooling so rapidly under the circumstances I've just described. I've read some comments that such rapid cooling can do damage, even crack the block. And that, at temperatures below ideal, the oil doesn't heat up enough to boil off water and some water born contaminants as well as the internal air space in the engine below the cylinders above the crank - that needs to heat up quickly to evaporate moisture in there.

What do you think?

Old Henry
(The older I get, the better old looks.)

This message was edited by Old Henry on 12-10-10 @ 7:41 AM

ford38v8    -- 12-09-2010 @ 10:15 PM