Topic: WTB '47 Ford Metric Speedometer

FRITZ47    -- 12-01-2010 @ 6:20 PM
  I am looking to buy a Metric Speedometer for a 1947 Ford. Please reply to fzoldcars@comcast.net

Thanks,
Fred

ford38v8    -- 12-01-2010 @ 7:14 PM
  Fred, please post your want ads in the Classified section. This is the Forum.

Alan

FRITZ47    -- 12-02-2010 @ 7:47 AM
  Very sorry - I am new to the Early V8 Club and this forum, so will do this - Thanks for bringing this to my attention.

supereal    -- 12-02-2010 @ 1:30 PM
  All speedometers are the same mechanically. The difference is the dial face markings. Try Bob's Speedometer at 1-800-592-9673. They may have an alternate face. Your questions are always welcome here.

Stroker    -- 12-02-2010 @ 1:35 PM
  Uh..wouldn't the odometer wheels have to be re-geared, since Kilo's and Miles are not divisible by
the same number per revolution?

ford38v8    -- 12-02-2010 @ 4:36 PM
  Dan, I think Bob is correct. The engine revs per axle rev is the same no matter how you measure the distance. Only the readout where the needle is pointing would be different. ...Uh, wait a minute, what about the odometer reading?

Alan

Stroker    -- 12-02-2010 @ 5:19 PM
  Alan:

Yea, I thought Super's solution was the simplest, until I got to thinking about the odometer.