Topic: water pump new vs old?

MICHV8    -- 08-27-2010 @ 8:50 AM
  I am trying to decide if a Skip rebuild at $200 is a smarter move than new at $100+ The old design is a bushing based and the new is a sealed bearing design...is the new actually a better designed pump?

37 Coupe    -- 08-27-2010 @ 9:30 AM
  I never took cost into account when having original bushing type pumps rebuilt by Skip or using the bushing type pump in general,to me it is the only way to go on 37-48 engines.I worked as a machinest in an industry where equipment exposed to heat and water used bushings when possible,bearings when need be,but a lot times that was the point of failure. The early pumps originally designed with an oiled bushing may wear but will not seize with a bearing that seal has failed to keep water out of,it may not ever happen but the possibilty is there. I guess that most repro bearing pumps are from India or China that are supplied. If you think Skip pumps are too expensive find a couple NOS or have someone else rebuild if you don't think you will need his impellers.

wmsteed    -- 08-27-2010 @ 11:07 AM
  There was a time when parts and labor were cheap... That time is gone forever.

I can remember when I was a kid, 60 plus years ago, leaking water pumps was a fact of life. It was very simple to go to Western Auto, pickup a couple of rebuild kits and in a short afternoon of work the pumps were rebuilt as good as new and would last a couple of years.
That time is also gone forever..

Now to the question at hand... Is the Skip Haney pumps better than the other rebuilt pumps on the market? For my money the pumps with new style ceramic seals and sealed bearings are far away the best way to go... They work very well with coolant and a small amount of pressure can be used in the system along with a recovery tank.