Topic: obviously I'm an idiot 38 ford

jccorbin    -- 08-08-2010 @ 4:45 PM
  Obviously I'm an idiot....I have now replaced the 38's coil with a rebuilt one from Skip Haney......and it won't start. I take it off and make sure everything is OK and reinstall it but it still won't start. I replace it with the original and it starts immediatly. All the while my wife is counseling me (in the nicest manner) "if you can't fix it so I can drive it and make it back home just get rid of it".
I'm at my wits end and strongly considering torching the '38 in the back yard and buying her a '47 GMC Pickup that she wants.
I've been working on English cars for 40 years and I've never had my butt kicked this bad. Is it time to get an adaptor and use a modern coil?????? or just buy the '47 GMC and be done with it......Jerry

37RAGTOPMAN    -- 08-08-2010 @ 5:32 PM
  I would call SKIP and maybe he can help,[ maybe you overlooked something simple ? ] it might be defective coil, that would be rare but I am sure it happens,
SURE SEEMS the way you tell the story that coil is not working,he stands behind his work, did he do the distributer also,?
if you checked for 3 1/2 volts to the coil terminal and get no spark to the ignition wires,
this might sound stupid, you did install the carbon brush in SKIPS COIL? and is making contact with the rotor.
remember you still have fix the car to sell it to buy the GMC, but they are slow on the road,because of thee low gears in the rear,
lets hear how you made out on this tread,
37RAGTOPMAN an KEEP ON TRUCKIN,,,,!!!!!!!!

jccorbin    -- 08-08-2010 @ 6:07 PM
  The brush is the first thing I checked. I had a problem with the original coil brush and replaced it with one from a TR-6 engine I have in the garage and it worked fine. I have some friends who are "flathead freaks" and they recommend the adaptor/modern coil as the only sure fix. I am still chasing the losing power when at operating temperature during the Summer.