Topic: Hot 41 Super Deluxe needs to chill (overheating)

Shinton    -- 06-02-2023 @ 11:58 AM
  Here's a pic of my 1941 Super Deluxe convertible on a hot summer's day (85°F) with stop and go driving. Clearly she doesn't like it. Any suggestions of what to do to keep her cooler? There's a big aluminum radiator (supposedly new from the previous owner) and I just had water pumps replaced. Wondering if an electric fan might be the way to go here? I'm an early Ford newbie so would appreciate any wisdom others have on the subject.

carcrazy    -- 06-02-2023 @ 3:37 PM
  Do you know if the previous owner had cooling problems with the cooling system as it now exhists? You might want to start out by getting an original type of radiator.

There are several things that can be done to reduce (hopefully eliminate) overheating problems:

Throughly clean the cooling system - you can get a Prestone Flush 'n Fill Kit to back-flush your cooling system. These kits are available from your local auto parts store. Follow the instructions that come with the kit. Once you are sure that the cooling system is totally clean, fill the cooling system with distilled water (without any anti-freeze) but with a pint of rust inhibitor/water pump lubricant. Water is the best dispersent of heat and should be used straight in the summer months.

Make sure your thermostats are working correctly. If there is any doubt about their functionality, replace them with new 160 F units that you have verified are working properly.

Make sure all of the air coming through the grille is going thorough the radiator. You may have to make some ducts out of sheetmetal or heavy cardboard. Use rubber from old inner tubes or duct tape to seal the edges around the radiator to force incoming air through the core.