Topic: engine binds

Bill4d1merc    -- 07-20-2010 @ 4:00 PM
  I was trying to rotate the engine by hand today and it got stuck. I finally got it to rotate the other way and when the crank was just about one full turn the opposite direction it started to bind again. It seems to bind in the same spot each time with no signs of freeing up. the spark plugs have been removed. This engine was running about 5 years ago but has been sitting ever since. The engine is the 59A style. Seeing this is my first time working on a flathead I would like some suggestions as to what to look for before I start tearing it apart.

Bill

supereal    -- 07-20-2010 @ 4:05 PM
  Any engine that has sat for that long could have anything in the cylinders. We have found mouse nests and other things, such as wasp nests, etc. It also may have a cylinder with water in it, but usually that will be expelled when the spark plug is out. The last one we had like that had an assortment of small nuts and bolts that someone apparently dropped in. It will be interesting to hear what you find when the heads are off. Be sure to post that info.

Cecil/WV    -- 07-22-2010 @ 5:33 AM
  Or perhaps a stuck valve.

Shiny side up! Cecil/WV

37RAGTOPMAN    -- 07-22-2010 @ 10:56 AM
  what you can do is vacuumn the cylinders.
use a small shop vac, make a adapter,[ use a pipe and some duct tape,]so it will fit down the spark plug hole, vac one cylinder, then check the vacuunm for dirt, rust etc,
then do another and see if you are picking anything up,if not dirt spray RUST BUSTER in the cylinders and see if you can rotate the engine, and do the valves on the springs and guides, etc,,
lets hear how you made out,
37 RAGTOPMAN KEEP ON TRUCKIN,,,,!!!!!!!!!1

Bill4d1merc    -- 07-22-2010 @ 5:16 PM