Topic: 37 Phaeton windshield wiper problems

BRL    -- 10-24-2021 @ 9:25 AM
  Hi:
I have just purchased a 37 Phaeton and the windshield wipers dont work and there is no info or history of why they dont work. As a first time owner of a antique car with vacuum wipers, I request help on troubleshooting and how to get them working. I am not interested in modifying them, I want to keep the car original regardless of how effective they work. I am a shade tree mechanic and like to work on these kinds of things myself. I have no literature (service manuals, etc) and would like some suggestions of what is good literature to have for repairing and maintaining this model car.
Thanks,
BRL

TomO    -- 10-24-2021 @ 10:08 AM
  If the vacuum hose is connected and you hear a hissing sound, you will probably have to have the wiper motor rebuilt.

Kent Jaquith used to be the guy to go to, but he is retired. The person that took over his business can be contacted at:
cleansweepwipers@gmail.com

Tom

3w2    -- 10-24-2021 @ 11:42 AM
  Alternatively, it might not be the motor, but a leaky rubber hose which if original is, after all, 84 years old.