Topic: Mechanical brake shudder

CDemarest    -- 07-05-2021 @ 6:33 PM
  I’ve been restoring a ‘36 pickup for many years and have finally gotten to the point where I can take it on the road. I’m using mechanical brakes and years ago I replaced all the pins, arms and bushings. I put in either NOS or rebuilt shoes but kept the original drums. Now, when the vehicle is moving and I apply strong pressure on the brake pedal, I get a strong shudder in the brakes. I’m thinking that my drums need to be turned. Should I be able to have any shop that does brake work do these for me or do I need to look for a place with experience with early Ford brakes? Thanks

This message was edited by CDemarest on 7-5-21 @ 6:34 PM

CharlieStephens    -- 07-05-2021 @ 6:45 PM
  I would go for a place with experience on the early Ford brakes. Add your general location to your post and maybe someone will have a recommendation.

Charlie Stephens.

CDemarest    -- 07-05-2021 @ 7:17 PM
  I’m in Greenville, PA, about 70 miles north of Pittsburgh and 80 miles east of Cleveland.

ford38v8    -- 07-05-2021 @ 7:33 PM
  As you have just now put it on the road, I’d take an educated guess that your shudder is merely surface rust in the drums, which will take care of itself in just a very few stops.

Alan

CDemarest    -- 07-05-2021 @ 7:40 PM
  Thanks, Alan. That would be great if it is just rust. I have experienced the shudder about ten times. I can try working the brakes a few more times to see if the situation improves. In the meantime, if anyone can recommend a good brake shop, I’d appreciate it.

Charlie Demarest

ford38v8    -- 07-05-2021 @ 9:26 PM
  Charlie, if those ten times were close together, then the shudder would not be rust. If over a period of a year or more, then that would have allowed rust to develop between drives. A drive around the block, with stops at each corner would polish off the rust.

Alan

CDemarest    -- 07-06-2021 @ 5:26 AM