Topic: Engine steady rods

oatycorb    -- 06-26-2021 @ 11:06 AM
  Probably a dumb question, but I'm relatively new to the whole flathead game. My '37 sedan had engine steady rods originally, it has a '47 59ab engine now that will be installed shortly. Firstly, where and how were the rods originally mounted? Secondly, since it has a later engine (that to my knowledge didn't use engine steady rods) should the rods still be used? I've got 2 rods that were in the trunk when I got the car, so I have them if needed, just don't know where they go. Thanks for your help guys!

supereal    -- 06-26-2021 @ 1:54 PM
  The "steady rods" were eliminated many years ago. They were intended to reduce or eliminate the usual rough clutch problems that were typical in Fords. Their effect on the problem was minor, if any at all. The primary cause was the
design of the drive line wherein the force of the rear axle pushed the torque tube, and thus the engine and transmission, forward when the clutch was engaged. In turn, the clutch linkage was affected, causing the shudder. At the time, several
"fixes" were sold by dealers. They tried to hold the engine steady, but were not very successful. I have the diagram of one in my collection. The best remedy is replacement of the motor mounts with new ones, and carefully tightening them until the rubber "donuts" begin to swell.

oatycorb    -- 06-28-2021 @ 7:34 AM
  Thank you for the info, much appreciated!!!

wmsteed    -- 07-02-2021 @ 9:11 AM
  All of the pre '49 Ford block are drilled for the 'steady rods.
The problem with the EFV8 steady rods are that they make the re-installation of the pre '49 engines a little more difficult to line up with the rear of the block, therefore, many mechanics eliminated them.
The steady rods attach to the rear cross member adjacent to the tail shaft of the trans utilizing a special tapered headed bolt.