Topic: Vacuum winshield wipers

Mark46-48    -- 05-25-2021 @ 2:03 PM
  I hate the vacuum wipers on my '48 coupe. How big a deal is it to install an electric electric wiper kit? I have basic mechanical skills but I'm no mechanic.

kubes40    -- 05-25-2021 @ 8:11 PM
  If you would have the vacuum motor rebuilt properly, you will be amazed at how well they work. Ficken Wiper does a great job rather reasonably.

Mike "Kube" Kubarth

MG    -- 05-25-2021 @ 9:01 PM
  I brought the vacuum wipers in my car back to life by spraying some Gibbs oil into the vacuum hose connected to the wiper motor....I was amazed at how well this worked! That was 3 years ago and they're still going strong. I suspect that any brand spray lubricant will work....

51woodie    -- 05-26-2021 @ 3:08 AM
  I had to replace the wiper motor on my '46 Coupe two years ago, with an almost NOS, and it works great. I tried the "lube in the hose" as suggested by several posts, but I can't understand how it would work, and for me it didn't. In my old mind, any lube put in the hose would be sucked into the carb base as soon as the engine was started. What detail in the process did I miss? Should I have put the lube in the hose that runs from the the control valve (connection on the left in pic.) to the motor, instead of the line from the carb base to the motor?

Jacques1960    -- 05-26-2021 @ 4:59 AM
  The motor is one thing, the diminutive wiper blades yet another !

Jacques1960    -- 05-26-2021 @ 5:01 AM
  The purpose of introducing lubricant (brake fluid, ATF, etc.) is to rejuvenate the internal diaphragm.

Generally works extremely well.

woodiewagon46    -- 05-26-2021 @ 6:14 AM