Topic: 1934 ford

34 Coupe    -- 08-20-2020 @ 11:30 AM
  I'm new to this . I recently purchased a 1934 ford rolling chassis, with plans to put a coupe body on. The rear axle is already set up with hydraulic brakes. These I'm told were not available in 1934. How do I identify what year rear this is , for any future part needs ? Also I want to convert to open drive shaft. Kit for this specifies 1935 and up. Will the kit fit what I have? I have noticed some parts are list as for xx year Mercury. Will these still fit a Ford?
Thanks for your time.

mfirth    -- 08-20-2020 @ 1:55 PM
  Hello, you might want to post this on "The Ford Barn" too.

34 Coupe    -- 08-21-2020 @ 11:10 AM
  Thanks " mfirth" I will go over there also. Just to pass some info along-- I have found out I have a 1934 rear axle. The center section of the rear ,minus the axle tubes , on a 1934 measures 3 1/2 " on 19 35 and up it measures 3 13/16 "

CharlieStephens    -- 08-21-2020 @ 1:55 PM
  You probably have ’39 to ’48 Ford brakes. The ’39-42 are shown in the 1st and 3rd pictures and the ’46-’48 brakes are shown in the 2nd and 4th. Note that the ’39-’42 brakes have an adjuster at the 6 o’clock position and the ’42-’48 brakes do not. Most parts are not interchangeable. If yours don’t match these post a picture of what you have. Lincoln or early Ford truck brakes are also a possibility.

This message was edited by CharlieStephens on 8-21-20 @ 2:16 PM

CharlieStephens    -- 08-21-2020 @ 2:08 PM