Topic: '42 Tudor Trunk

42Flattman    -- 06-16-2020 @ 7:45 AM
  Hello......I am new to this as I just purchased a '42 Tudor Sedan and I have not owned a vintage vehicle quite this old before.....so hopefully you will bear with me on some of my inquiries......my first issue I am facing is after I got it home is that I cannot get the trunk unlocked.....I did get it open when I went to pick it up (with a little jiggling of the key).....but it appears it doesn't want to work any longer.......I have cleaned and lubed the lock very well and have spent a fair amount of time messing with it, but it just won't unlock.....I have called a few mobile locksmiths but have yet to come up with one willing to give it a shot (seems strange, huh).....I still have some to call but not holding my breath. Anyway, I am curious if anyone else has had this issue and maybe can help me out with a possible solution.....like can you access the trunk by removing the rear seat ? Or drill out the lock ?? (I am going to replace the complete assembly once I can get it open to remove it so I don't care if it gets ruined that way)
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks !

Grant    -- 06-16-2020 @ 10:41 AM
  Welcome to the Early Ford V8 Club Of America web site.

Please do not drill out the lock. I think maybe you are just experiencing a little bit of Henry's Revenge with what appears to be a pretty nice '42 Ford. With a little bit of perseverance and assistance, hopefully we can help you get that trunk lock to open.

As a starting point, whereabouts in Oklahoma are you?

I'm hoping that there will be an Early Ford V8 Club member not too far away who is willing to assist.

Have you considered joining the nearest Regional Group of the Early Ford V8 Club? RG 64 is based in Oklahoma City.

42Flattman    -- 06-16-2020 @ 12:10 PM
  Hi......Thank you for the reply.