Topic: Flathead hesitates on acceleration

DJ    -- 05-04-2020 @ 8:03 AM
  Put a new steel fuel line on from fuel pump to carb to correct a leaking issue. Leak is gone. While I was waiting to receive part, I gapped spark plugs and gapped points. I should say I am a flathead novice. Took for a ride yesterday and it hesitates on acceleration, in first and second. Seemed to run smooth when up to speed in third. Started fine. It did not have any acceleration issues prior to my “tune up”. I’m thinking my issue is timing related. Wanted to check with you guys prior to making it worse.

fsacht    -- 05-04-2020 @ 9:15 AM
  What year is your vehicle? Engine type; 59AB, 8BA, etc.? Did you remove the distributor to readjust or service the points? Need more information.

therunwaybehind    -- 05-04-2020 @ 9:43 AM
  Over the years I have found this sort of problem to be covered by a saying, "90% of all carburetor problems are caused by the ignition." The secret one like yours, now, mainly for me, was someone touched the faces of the point on installing them or a drip of oil from above when the engine was hot got on the points. Even finger oil will burn on the highly polished and rare metals (tungsten, tantalum) of the points. They usually don't corrode in the box. That is one good thing. Feeler gauge? Totally oil free and no gasoline or petroleum products used to wash it?

This message was edited by therunwaybehind on 5-4-20 @ 9:44 AM

DJ    -- 05-04-2020 @ 10:58 AM
  51 8 cyl Custom. Did not remove distributor. Therunwaybehind probably nailed it. I used WD40 to clean up an old feeler gauge I borrowed from a neighbor. Never occurred to me that would harm the points. One step forward, two steps back.....I’m learning!

TomO    -- 05-05-2020 @ 6:48 AM
  A feeler gauge should never be used to set used points. See my answer in this post:

https://www.earlyfordv8.org/forum/viewmessages.cfm?Forum=18&Topic=13773

Tom

37RAGTOPMAN    -- 05-05-2020 @ 8:24 AM
  hi DJ