Topic: Tires

servidave    -- 01-06-2020 @ 7:31 PM
  Recently purchased "47 Super deluxe. Currently has Coker wide whitewalls that I intend to replace in the spring. As far as I know - wheels are original, will tubeless tires fit on these wheels? Or do I have to have tubes? What about radials ? And finally, is the another source for wide whitewalls besides Coker? My local tire dealer doesn't know of any other source and he thinks tubeless will work but he's not 100 per cent sure. Don't want to buy new tires and then find out they don't work. Any input much appreciated -new to the old car scene.

engine    -- 01-07-2020 @ 7:23 AM
  I have been running Diamond Back tires on my truck for 9 years and 5 years on my Woodie. Both are radials and tubeless. I haven’t had any problems with either. I do have the spare for the Woodie a bias tire with a tube as it has to fit in the wheel cover on the tailgate. That particular rim would not hold air with the radial that’s why it is the spare. I like the radials myself over the bias tire. That’s why they have them on modern cars also. I did a 4800 mile trip to Glacier National Park and didn’t have any problems. That’s my opinion.

joe b    -- 01-07-2020 @ 8:12 AM
  I have had Coker whitewalls on my '41 Coupe for 5 years. My tire shop installer suggested tubes account the old wheels are not as fine. Better safe than sorry. I would say that installing tubes is your choice. Opinions vary. You might consider no tubes and if you have trouble buy tubes and have them installed. I also suggest radials unless you have a concourse show car. The Ford runs straight and true with no drifting. And the ride is outstanding.
Other tire companies:
Lucas Tires: www.lucasclassictires.com Universal Tires: www.universaltire.com

51woodie    -- 01-07-2020 @ 10:06 AM