Topic: Brake Drum installation

lance99    -- 03-27-2018 @ 11:54 AM
  I'm a newbie. First post.

I inherited my Dad's '48 Ford Sedan and just replaced front wheel cylinders, hoses and shoes. Was a real mess. Dad had an old 3 pronged drum puller which worked well. Had to use the puller to drive the drum off the spindle.

I now re- install the drum but don't think it is pushed in sufficiently. I tighten the castle nut to 150 ft-lbs (max on my torque wrench) and seems like way too much pre-load on the bearings. Cant imagine what it would be like at the prescribed 220 ft-lbs. I loosen the castle nut again and the drum can be removed by hand without the puller.

Any guidance? How can I tell if the drum is pushed on far enough?

Thanks!

FordFreak    -- 03-27-2018 @ 12:28 PM
  I believe that torque spec is for the rear drums .

supereal    -- 03-27-2018 @ 1:45 PM
  To reassemble the front hub, be sure the brake on that wheel is backed off. Pack both bearings with the proper wheel bearing grease, and place the inner bearing in the cup and install the grease seal with the lip facing inward, and drive it into place until the outer face if the seal is flush with the hub. Place the hub into place and reinstall the outer bearing, keyed washer, and the castellated nut. Tighten the nut firmly to seat the bearings in their cups and rotate the hub until no resistance is felt. Place the cotter pin through the nut and spindle, and clip off the excess part of the legs before you tap the dust cap into place. When I was a Ford dealer's mechanic many years ago, that was the way we approached the job. In practice, we didn't use a torque wrench for most of the jobs, including the cylinder head nuts. That may seem strange, but the vehicles we repaired were dependable and long lasting.

sarahcecelia    -- 04-02-2018 @ 12:07 PM