Topic: Newbie___ Radials?

ibshane    -- 10-16-2017 @ 12:03 AM
  Hey Guys,
I am a newbie to earlyfordV8.org as well as being a newbie to my new/old (Almost Bone Stock) 1937 Sedan Deluxe Fordor.
My question is: Can I put tubeless radials on my stock wheels? I've been looking at the Coker & Diamondback wide whitewall radials.

This message was edited by ibshane on 10-16-17 @ 3:48 PM

ford38v8    -- 10-16-2017 @ 12:45 AM
  Shane, that's a beautiful car! To partly answer your question, I've been told that you can run radials, but you need to run tubes in them. I run bias ply Cokers on my '38, and get about 18000 miles out of them.

Alan

ibshane    -- 10-16-2017 @ 1:19 AM
  Thanks & Thanks!

TomO    -- 10-16-2017 @ 7:29 AM
  You should use tubes with your stock wheels. They do not have the bear retaining hump that will keep a tubeless tire seated on the rim when the tire pressure is low.

That is such a pretty car and in my opinion, radial tires would look strange on it.

Tom

MG    -- 10-16-2017 @ 10:05 AM
  Radial tires on a '37 pictured in attachment below. The Coker tubeless radial tires on this car are being run with tubes inside....

ibshane    -- 10-16-2017 @ 3:44 PM
  Yes, Thank you!
The Coker American "Classic Bias Look Radial" is what I was considering. I believe Diamondback also makes a similar "Bias Look" Radial?

https://www.cokertire.com/american-classic-bias-profile-radials.html

This message was edited by ibshane on 10-16-17 @ 3:47 PM

alanwoodieman    -- 10-16-2017 @ 4:11 PM
  I have been running radials on my 40 wagon for 4 years. Firestone/Bridgestone Ecopia , never have run tubes. I do know of at least 4 other cars/trucks running these tires. 195 80R 16 high pressure radial tires

pauls39coupe    -- 10-16-2017 @ 5:17 PM
  We have a couple of cars running Coker's with tubes, and are happy with the results. Be sure whoever mounts them removes the little sticker inside the tire. If they don't it will wear a hole in the tube.