Topic: Help! Running on 4 cylinders

chask    -- 06-09-2017 @ 5:40 PM
  Hi all, I am a newbie to the world of antique vehicles and the ford flathead. I recently retired and was looking for a project to keep busy and boy did I find one. I purchased a 1937 Ford pickup in January from an antique car dealer and am having problems with the engine. The Truck has what I think is a 1941 Flathead V8 (it has the raised intake manifold and helmet distributor). The engine is running rough and seems to be running on 4 cylinders and is difficult to start. It is also making a clanking sound my wife says sounds like a horse clop. I have installed a re-built model 94 Carburetor from Charlie NY and had the Distributor checked out by Charlie NY. (Many thanks to Charlie. He went above and beyond and even had me send the carb and distributor back to him to re-verify on his engine that they were OK, which they were.)
Here is what I’ve found so far: I pulled off the spark plug wires one at a time and found no change in engine speed when 3, 4, 5 and 7 were pulled. 1, 2, 6 and 8 caused the engine to slow when pulled. It seems like it is running on 4 cylinders. All 8 wires when pulled have strong blue sparks. I have tried changing back to the original coil and spark plugs with no change. There is no backfiring at all either thru the exhaust or thru the carburetor.
Checked compression both hot and cold and readings are:
Cyl 1 - 110
Cyl 2 - 105
Cyl 3 - 110
Cyl 4 - 115
Cyl 5 - 115
Cyl 6 - 105
Cyl 7 - 105
Cyl 8 - 100

I also looked at each valve thru the spark plug hole while cranking and all valves that I can see are moving (None stuck??). Can't see both valves on Cyl 4 and 8.
Checked intake manifold vacuum and gauge fluctuates rapidly between 7-12 to 16 inches Hg.
It will run on 4 cylinders and stops making clanking, clopping, noise when I disconnect #1 spark plug and run on 3.
Here is the complete list of things I’ve done so far: