Topic: v-8 60 repair

pohair    -- 04-05-2010 @ 1:43 PM
  I am new to V-8 flatheads and just purchased a 38 fordor standard. I believe it came with the 60 hp engine, so I would like to keep it as original as possible. I need to find cylinder sleeves, an oil filler tube and dipstick and tube. Does anyone have an idea where I can obtain the following preferably on the west coast? Also is there a trick to removing and installing these sleeves? Thanks

37RAGTOPMAN    -- 04-06-2010 @ 5:31 AM
  In the FORD DEALERS, they had K R WILSON tools for this job, had pullers and a press to install,
the press was mainly a treaded rod with special ends the that fitted the sleeves,I guess with a machine shop you could make a similar ends and a treaded rod and make the tool for the job, easier then it sounds,
you might want to pick up a KR WILSON REPRO TOOL CATALOG, and they will have pictures of the tools,
hope this helps 37RAGTOPMAN
someone else will weigh in,maybe shed more light on it,

JTHOMPSON    -- 04-06-2010 @ 7:13 AM
  Over 30 years ago when my father and I restored a '40 Std. Opera Coupe, we had to install sleeves in an 85 hp engine. They were the thin wall sleeves and were rather difficult to install.

What we ended up doing was making a 'plug' to fill the inside of the sleeve out of a hard wood (turned it on a lathe to fit with close tolerances in the cylinder bore) and drilled a hole through the center of that plug. We then took 2 pieces of 1/4" stock, drilled through the center and placed one at the bottom of the cylinder bore and one at the top. Then using a length of 1/2" all thread, put that through the 1/4" stock and plug, securing it at the bottom with a nut, and another nut at the top which we used to 'wind' the sleeve into the block

It took quite the effort to do this, the more the sleeve was pushed into the block, the more friction there was. We were going to sleeve all 8 cylinders but ended up only doing the 2 that actually needed it.

Engine ran like a charm!