Topic: Electric fuel pump

BIGTERR    -- 09-22-2016 @ 10:29 AM
  Hi everyone, I have been thinking about installing a electric fuel pump in my 47 Merc. so I don't have to pour gas in the carb. to start the car after sitting for 2-3 weeks. I have no problem with vapor locks as yet. As MACS is just across the border I can pick it up. Any comments on the 6v. Carter pump they sell rated at 2-4 lbs. so I shouldn't need a regulator.
Thanks in advance for your help.

ken ct.    -- 09-22-2016 @ 11:52 AM
  Whyput something in the system to possibly go wrong. A properly rebuilt mech. pump with top shelf componants will do you just fine. OMO. ken ct. Ive been building Ford pumps for 20 yrs and have had mabey 2 come back out of hundreds ive done in that time.

Drbrown    -- 09-22-2016 @ 9:28 PM
  BIGTERR .... Ken Ct makes a valid point. A good rebuilt mechanical pump with ethanol-resistant components will last a long time.

To your issue .... if you search forum threads you'll see that your problem of gas leaking back into the main fuel line and tank after the car sits for an extended time is a common one. The problem may be the result of poor fuel line connections at the carburetor and/or fuel pump, or other internal problems at them.

The previous owner of my '47 had the same problem and installed an Airtex (pass-thru) electric near the tank, without a regulator. Although my mechanical pump normally operates the engine, I run the electric for about 4 or 5 seconds before starting the engine. With the choke out the engine starts immediately. Also, some allude to the fact that an electric back-up pump can get you "home' if your mechanical does fail (never had that experience).

I like the idea of having both options.

This message was edited by Drbrown on 9-22-16 @ 9:30 PM

ken ct.    -- 09-22-2016 @ 10:53 PM