Topic: stake sides

PeterFord    -- 02-05-2011 @ 7:27 AM
  I have a 51 Ford pickup and I want to build some stake sides for the bed. I would like to see pictures of stake side vintage pickups. Does anyone know where I can look for these?

alanwoodieman    -- 02-05-2011 @ 4:31 PM
  do you have a convential pick-up of do you have a stake or flat bed body. Convential-pick ups, as far as I can tell never had "factory stakes" but were created by the owner or wood shop

PeterFord    -- 02-05-2011 @ 9:46 PM
  I have a conventional pickup with holes for the vertical stakes. I agree. There were no factory stake sides, only the option to make them yourself. I am a carpenter, and I have seen various vintage trucks with very elegant stake sides, so I thought I would make a set.
Many thanks. Peter

alanwoodieman    -- 02-06-2011 @ 10:41 AM
  reason I asked was I researched stake bed standards or the wooden part in order to make a set for my 3/4 ton truck and I found pictures only, could not find any actual measurements, even tried to find an original to measure but really had no luck.

PeterFord    -- 02-06-2011 @ 12:51 PM
  where did you find pictures?

alanwoodieman    -- 02-06-2011 @ 3:58 PM
  out of various Ford truck books

Idahobob    -- 02-09-2011 @ 4:34 PM
  I just acquired my Grandfathers 46 Ford and it still has the racks on the truck. I have heard more than one person say they are some of the nicest they have seen. They are rough looking in the photo due to the truck sitting in the garage since 1972. They were made out of hardwood and I have a picture from 1955 that shows this same set of racks on the truck. I can get a better picture of them the next time I get to the shop if you are interested.

alanwoodieman    -- 02-09-2011 @ 6:01 PM
  looks like a good project, family piece and yes the stake sides look great. I have a Ford picture in a book of a 41 3/4 ton truck with sides much like these.

41pickupguy    -- 02-11-2011 @ 1:00 PM
  Hi PeterFord.