Topic: 1950 Ford F1 Restoration Questions

deluxe40    -- 10-14-2023 @ 2:44 PM
  Hello, I'm the V8 Club's 1949-51 Ford advisor and I am trying to answer questions from a member restoring a 1950 F1. I am not an expert. Is there a book available for restoration details on the 49-51 F1 pickups?

Here are the questions (from Tom Kane). Any help would be appreciated:

Is a chrome front bumper acceptable or should it be steel painted black?
Are white wall tires acceptable?
Are beauty rings on the rims acceptable?
Should the running board bolts be painted semi gloss black?
Should the rear fender brace bolt be painted? If so, what color?
Should the tailgate hinge bolts be painted? If so, what color?
Should the tail light itself be all black or have a stainless steel ring around it?

Thanks,

52flthed    -- 10-15-2023 @ 12:58 PM
  I'm half an expert.

Chrome Bumpers were an option at some point on the Bonus Built Trucks. Not sure if it included 1950 or not?
White Walls were not offered on Trucks. In my opinion look horrible on a truck to begin with.
Beauty rings either to my knowledge.
Running board bolts I believe were cadmium plated. Thus I defaulted on my truck restoration, to using the Stainless Steel versions commonly available, just my preference due to their location for rusting.
Rear Fender bolts are supposed to be welded into the bed wall and painted body color as is the entire bed. 1950 was a transition year in trucks, steering wheel column shift and the bed changed mid year as well, I used again stainless steel as it was more practical for me to do so and looks quite nice.
Tailgate hinges painted body color.
The original tail light housing door was black. However the stainless steel rings I believe were available over the counter at the parts store. The black doors look better in my opinion, less common and actually makes the lens more visible against the all black housing.