Topic: car wont start

deric47merc    -- 12-04-2009 @ 2:11 PM
  Hey All,
I need some help with my 47 Merc 4 dr Sedan. I bought it from my mother in law in non running condition. It has not been driven in about five years. When I got it home I found out the motor was frozen. Fun! I got it to break free by putting some fluids on the cylinders. I put a new battery, new plugs,new water pumps, condenser, fuel filter, radiator in hopes this would get it running. When I try and start it all I'm getting is the motor turning over but that's it. It does not actually fire up and start. I am getting some backfiring and sounds like it is trying to fire up but that's it. I wasa hoping some of you experts had some ideas that I can try??I have pulled the top off the plugs then hit the ignition and I am getting spark. Anybody have any ideas what it could be? Ihave drained oil and gas.this is my first time working on a flathead. Thanks
Deric

Stroker    -- 12-04-2009 @ 3:34 PM
  I think for starters, I'd pull all the spark plugs, and
remove the fuel line from the carb. Leaving the ignition
off, and having a fire extinguisher handy, I'd see if you
have fuel pulsing from the fuel pump. I'd guess, given
that you say it "coughs back" that you are not getting
enough fuel to the carb. Try that, and report back. The
New Forum has a lot of really great V8'ers that have been
there and "done that".

trjford8    -- 12-04-2009 @ 5:24 PM
  Since this car has not run for a long time I would put some oil in each cylinder to help the compression. Then check with a compression gauge. If you have a lack of compression in some cylinders there may be some valves that are hanging up.