Topic: '40 radio

mgbrewer    -- 01-01-2013 @ 5:01 PM
  I am a newbie who just bought a fully restored to original '40 Ford Coupe. This is my first "pre war" classic - I own 2 Mustang Shelby's.
I have been reading some posts to this site, my car does not have a radio and I read that radios were often installed by the dealer. I would like to install a radio but only if it is possible to locate a correct original. Are my expectations too high? Can someone tell me where to start my search?

Appreciate any input.

Mike

deuce_roadster    -- 01-01-2013 @ 8:26 PM
  They show up often both on Craigslist and Ebay as well as the larger swap meets and the classified section of this site. You may notice there were 2 makers Zenith and Philco. The Zenith has a notch in the case to clear the linkage for the cowl vent. Either would be correct for your car, Ford just had more then 1 supplier. Fully restored expect to pay 400 to 500. It may just be a coincidence but I seem to notice more Zeniths here on the West Coast and Philcos in the East. I have been to 20 Hershey swap meets and this is what I have noticed. Philcos are hard to find around here where I live. You will also need to get the correct antenna, there is a closed car one and an open car one. Good luck!

TomO    -- 01-02-2013 @ 11:01 AM
  Mike, if you are not a member of the Early Ford V-8 Club, I recommend that you join and find a Regional Group near your home to also join. The RG members will be able to help you select correct accessories for your car and help keep it running right.

Tom

mgbrewer    -- 01-02-2013 @ 1:47 PM
  Thanks for your help, and I will join the club.

If anyone reading this has or knows of a correct Zenith or Philco radio & antenna for a closed car pls PM me.

Mike

trjford8    -- 01-02-2013 @ 6:44 PM
  Mike, be aware that you have to put a hole in the roof of the car to install the correct antenna.

mgbrewer    -- 01-03-2013 @ 5:34 PM